Chadian president is new AU chairperson

The African Union elected Idriss Deby Itno, the president of the Republic of Chad, as their new chairperson Saturday.

President Itno is the successor to Robert Gabriel Mugabe, president of the Republic of Zimbabwe. In his new position, Itno will hold the position for 2016.

Of his service, President Mugabe said, “It was an honour to guide our organisation to implement its vision of the 'Africa We Want.'"

President Deby’s acceptance speech emphasized his goals for the major programs that will happen under his leadership, including the AU Member States' 2016 theme, "African Year of Human Rights." The new theme has a particular emphasis on women's rights. 

President Deby will also lead the "10 Year Implementation Plan of Agenda 2063."

The other newly elected members of the African Union include Yayi Bony Thomas (the president of the Republic of Benin) as the first vice-chairperson, Paul Kagame (the president of the Republic of Rwanda) as the second vice-chairperson, Honorable Ageila Sala Issa (the speaker of the House of Representatives of the State of Libya) as the third vice-chairperson and President Mugabe as the fourth vice-chairperson.

Organizations in this Story

African Union Commission

Want to get notified whenever we write about African Union Commission ?
Next time we write about African Union Commission, we'll email you a link to the story. You may edit your settings or unsubscribe at any time.